Price a Big Winner as NHL Hands Out Awards

USATSI_8666459_154158418_lowresMontreal Canadiens netminder Carey Price cleaned up big at the 2015 NHL Awards on Wednesday. He took home the Hart Trophy, the Vezina Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award for most outstanding player as voted by the players.

“It hasn’t really sunk in yet,” Price said. “I’m just truly grateful just to be here. I don’t really know what to say. It’s been an amazing experience. This whole season has been just amazing. There is still one more thing I want to get though.”

Price is the first goalie to win the Hart Trophy since Montreal netminder Jose Theodore did so in 2001-2002. He’s also the first to win the Ted Lindsay Award since Dominik Hasek in 1997-1998.

Price also won a share of the William M. Jennings Trophy with Chicago’s Corey Crawford. The Canadiens and the Blackhawks tied the regular season with a league-low 189 goals allowed.

Price won the Hart Trophy with 139 first-place votes and 1,498 voting points from the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. In second place was Alex Ovechkin with 888 voting points.

As for the Vezina, Price received 27 out of 30 first-place votes from the NHL’s general managers. He had 144 voting points, 84 more than the second-place Pekka Rinne.

Calgary Flames head coach Bob Hartley won the Jack Adams Award as coach of the year, while Jiri Hudler was the first Czech player to win the Lady Byng Award. Calgary had four players up for awards, the most finalists out of all the teams.

Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson won the Norris Trophy for the second time in his career. He led all defencemen with 66 points and had 44 first-place votes.

Patrice Bergeron won the Selke Trophy for the second straight year and the third time in the past four years, barely nudging out Chicago’s Jonathan Toews for the award.

Aaron Ekblad of the Florida Panthers won the Calder Trophy, becoming the first defenceman since Tyler Myers to win the award. The 19-year-old from Windsor had a dozen goals in 81 games and finished with 39 points.

Other winners included Steve Yzerman, who was named the general manager of the year, and Devan Dubnyk. The Minnesota Wild netminder won the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. Toews took home the Mark Messier Leadership Award, while Detroit captain Henrik Zetterberg won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy.

Ovechkin won the Rocket Richard Trophy for most goals scored in the regular season, while Jamie Benn had the most points in the regular season and walked away with the Art Ross Trophy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close