Hockey: Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2020

Image: NHL

The Hockey Hall of Fame has introduced its inductees for 2020 and it is an impressive list.

“The Hockey Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these hockey legends as Honoured Members,” Lanny McDonald, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced in a press release. “Their contributions to the game of hockey are well documented and their election to the Hockey Hall of Fame is richly deserved.”

The inductees are Jarome Iginla, Marian Hossa, Kevin Lowe, Kim St-Pierre, Doug Wilson, and Ken Holland.

The former captain of the Calgary Flames, Iginla will join the Hall in his first year of eligibility. He played in over 1500 NHL games with the Flames, Pittsburgh Penguins, Boston Bruins, Colorado Avalanche, and Los Angeles Kings. A six-time All-Star, he’s just one of 20 NHLers to put up 600 goals in a career. He won the Rocket Richard Trophy in 2002 and 2004, the Art Ross in 2002, the Lester P. Pearson Award in 2002, and the Mark Messier Leadership Award in 2009.

In Hossa, the Hall is inducting a five-time All Star and a three-time Stanley Cup champion. In 1309 career NHL games with the Ottawa Senators, Atlanta Thrashers, Pittsburgh Penguins, Detroit Red Wings, and Chicago Blackhawks, Hossa scored 525 goals and added 609 assists. He was also solid in support of the Slovakian team at the World Junior Championships, World Championships, and Olympics.

Lowe was part of the Edmonton Oilers’ dynasty and collected five Stanley Cups in his first 13-season stint. He served as alternate captain of the club, joining Wayne Gretzky and Mark Messier as part of the leadership core. Lowe would go on to win a Stanley Cup with the New York Rangers in 1994 and was a seven-time All-Star. In 1990, he won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy.

St-Pierre is a three-time Olympic gold medalist and five-time IIHF World Champion with Team Canada. She began her career as the top rookie for the McGill Martlets and became the first woman to win a regular season in a men’s league when she skated for McGill over Ryerson in 2003. The goaltender was the starter for Team Canada in 2002 at the Olympics in Salt Lake and would go on to stack up international goal until she retired in 2013. She became the second woman to lace the skates against NHL players when she practiced with the Montreal Canadiens, joining Manon Rheaume with the distinction.

Wilson, the current general manager of the San Jose Sharks, skated as a defenceman for 1024 games with the Chicago Blackhawks and Sharks in the NHL. He posted a career 237 goals and won the Norris Trophy in 1982. He was nominated for the award five times and went on to become the first team captain in Sharks franchise history. He spent 14 seasons in Chicago and is still the franchise’s highest-scoring defenceman.

Holland will enter the Hall as a builder. He spent 22 years as general manager of the Detroit Red Wings, winning more games than any other franchise during that period and scooping up three Stanley Cups. Holland is, of course, now the general manager of the Oilers.

Image: NHL

Published by Dr. Pucksworth

Doctor of Puckanomics.

%d bloggers like this: